Three Regional Deer Control Plans have been developed as a key action under the Victorian Deer Control Strategy (VDCS) to support the implementation of the Victorian Government’s deer control program in partnership with the community, including representative groups and organisations, Traditional Owners, industry, the local and federal Government.

Peri-Urban Deer Control Plan 2021-2026

East Victoria Deer Control Plan 2023-2028

West Victoria Deer Control Plan 2023-2028

The purpose of the plans is to guide deer control and management actions across Victoria by identifying priority areas to prevent or minimise the impact of deer on our environmental, cultural, social, and economic values. The plans do not prescribe detailed site-specific control measures. Instead, these will be developed and implemented collaboratively by agencies, First Nations and community partners identified within the Plan.

Traditional Owners have a deep understanding of the land and its cultural significance. Their ongoing input will help identify areas of cultural importance and develop strategies for protecting Country from the impacts of deer.

The Plans were prepared by the Department of Energy, Environment and Climate Action (DEECA), with input from regional partnership groups comprising members from state and local government agencies, water authorities, universities, community groups and landholders. Partnership group members provided local information on deer impacts on various environmental, agricultural, water and social values.

Deer control plan regions

Figure 1. Deer control plan regions: Map showing the three deer control plan regions, being Peri-urban, East and West deer plan regions, which together cover the whole state.

Figure 1. Deer control plan regions

Page last updated: 01/06/23