The Premier and the Minister for Energy, Environment and Climate Change are supported by the Sustainability Fund Committee which:

  • oversees fund management in order to support transparency and accountability
  • provides impartial, strategic advice relevant to all allocations from the fund to the Minister prior to approval from the Minister and the Premier.

The Committee currently has 5 members and is fully independent. The Committee plays a key role in ensuring that all allocations are consistent with the legislated objectives of the Fund. The Committee is supported by the Sustainability Fund Team within DELWP.

Who we are

Freya Marsdon

Freya Marsden

Committee Chair, Freya Marsden, is an experienced Chair and Non-Executive Director with extensive governance, corporate strategy and finance background. As an economist, Freya has a keen interest in ensuring long-term, effective outcomes and value for money for the Victorian government as well as for taxpayers.

Freya has deep experience in driving optimal outcomes supported through her extensive sustainability, environmental management, finance, risk and audit capability. This includes establishing and utilising frameworks that protect and create value, manage risks and optimise opportunities.

Freya brings to her role significant knowledge in the energy, water, infrastructure, transport and environmental; sectors including sustainability policy within government and the private sector both in Australia and internationally.

Freya also has extensive not-for-profit experience. She has been involved in developing policies in areas such as disadvantage and disability.

Joe Groher

Joseph Groher, Deputy Chair

Joseph Groher has been the Finance Specialist of the Sustainability Fund Committee since December 2016 and is the Deputy Chair.

Joe is a finance professional with over 40 years of experience as an Accounting Manager and Chief Financial Officer (CFO). He held several finance positions over an 18-year period while working for Shell Australia including secondments in Tanzania, East Africa and Fiji.

Joe gained extensive knowledge of local government when he was the CFO at the City of Greater Geelong and also at the City of Melbourne. His role as the CFO of the Environment Protection Authority included significant collaboration with Sustainability Victoria and DELWP. He is currently involved with the waste and recycling sector through his consulting role with the Metropolitan Waste and Resource Recovery Group.

Joe holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree from Deakin University and is a Certified Practicing Accountant.

Joan Ko

Joan Ko

Joan has spent her career providing sustainability advice as a consultant to government and industry, with a focus on decarbonisation, resilience and circular economy for cities. She leads advisory, planning and design services for Arup in Victoria and is responsible for embedding sustainable development through the Arup consultancy service.

Examples of Joan’s work include advising policymakers on the role of infrastructure in resilient communities, helping organisations transition towards a circular economy, and identifying barriers and drivers for net-zero emissions precincts in Australia. She is also a member of the Committee of Management for Working Heritage.

Joan is a Chartered Environmentalist. She holds a Master of Philosophy in Engineering for Sustainable Development from Cambridge, as well as a Master of Business Administration and Bachelor of Environmental Engineering.

Kate Andrews

Kate Andrews

Kate Andrews is a professional company director and independent management consultant with expertise in governance, organisational strategy, marketing and digital disruption. Kate is passionate about addressing climate change and working towards a circular economy. Kate’s governance experience as a board member and committee chair spans community services, aged care, private health insurance, and member and advocacy organisations.

As a former executive, Kate held senior management positions in strategic marketing and corporate strategy at a $30 billion superannuation fund and at top-tier advertising and marketing organisations locally and internationally.

Kate has a Bachelor of Commerce / Bachelor of Arts, a Graduate Diploma of Marketing, a Diploma of Financial Services (Superannuation), is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD) Company Directors Course, and a former Fellow of the Australian Institute of Superannuation Trustees (AIST).

Tom Mollenkopf

Following the resignation of John Batho,a replacement member of the Committee, Tom Mollenkopf, was appointed on 1 August 2021.

Page last updated: 19/11/21