I am pleased to announce the appointment of Professor Kate Auty as the new Chair of the Environment Protection Authority (EPA). Dr Auty brings significant experience in the fields of public sector governance and administration, law, regulation and the environment.

The former Victorian Commissioner for Environmental Sustainability and ACT Commissioner for Sustainability and the Environment, Prof Auty’s expertise, leadership, insights and skills will ensure strong leadership and governance of the EPA during this period of transition and major reform.

The appointment is for five years, beginning 1 July 2020. During this time, Prof Auty will support the Government’s commitment to build a stronger, modern EPA to better protect Victoria’s environment and community from the harmful effects of pollution and waste.

The EPA is working hard on the implementation of the Environment Protection Amendment Act 2018, which will come into effect in 2021. The EPA also has a major role to play in the delivery of the Government’s overhaul of waste and recycling. The EPA will also work closely with industry and businesses so they can operate in a way that’s safe for the community and environment.

The Victorian Government thanks Cheryl Batagol for her leadership of the EPA since 2009.

The Hon. Lily D’Ambrosio
Minister for Energy, Environment and Climate Change

Page last updated: 27/07/20