# Inner West Air Quality Community Reference Group

# Meeting 11

# **Minutes**

Date	Monday 16 September 2019		
Time	6.00 – 9.00 pm		
Location	Meeting Room 2, Altona Civic Centre - 115 Civic Parade, Altona		
Chair	Patsy Toop OAM (PT)		
Members	Keith Loveridge (KL) Kristen Gilbert (KG) Ian Butterworth (IB) Christine Harris (CH) Narelle Wilson (NW) Alexandra Damasoliotis (AD) Chris Dunlevy (CD)	Bert Boere (BB) Clare Sheppard (CS) Geoffrey Mitchelmore OAM (GM) Louise Keramaris (LK) Adam Fletcher (AF) Valerie Dripps (VD)	
Secretariat (DELWP)	Michelle McHugh	Kylie Munro	
Panel members	Steven Cox (DELWP Planning) Kristen Gilbert (Brimbank City Council)	Ruth Davies (EPA Planning)  David Vorchheimer (HWL Ebsworth )	
Sub-committee facilitators (DELWP)	Katherine Evans Megan Liddicoat	Kyle Garland	

Ag	Agenda items, minutes, and actions			
1	Welcome and acknowledgement of Traditional Owners			
2	Actions arising from previous meeting			
	Action 1: Group members to continue to submit photos of local air pollution impacts and community quotes to the Secretariat for inclusion in the report.  Owner: All			
Action 2: Secretariat to arrange site visit to QENOS Altona operations and follow up on opportunities for site visit to ExxonMobil's Altona refinery  Owner: Secretariat				
2	Evnort nanol Diagning			

3 Expert panel - Planning

Topics covered included:

- Victoria's planning framework
- Local and Victorian government responsibilities within the planning system
- Key and emerging planning policies and guidance related to air quality

- Victoria's Environmental Effects Statement process
   The role of VCAT
- The role of EPA as an advisory and referral authority
- Existing use rights

## 4 Report chapter development

• Members met as sub-committees to discuss and progress development of Report chapters

### 5 Progress update to Ministers

• The Group received a draft letter to be sent from the Chair on its behalf, providing ministers with a progress update and requesting a meeting with them in October.

Action 3: Chair to send letter to the Ministers		Owner: Chair
Action 4: Secretariat to arrange a subsequent meeting with the Ministers, in consultation with Chair		Owner: Secretariat
6	Other business	

The next meeting (Monday 7 October) will commence at 6:30 pm.